see the beauty

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Almost every time we were asked this as we were growing up, we had a different answer.

I can’t even count the times that I changed my mind throughout the years.

One of the first things I remember wanting to be was an artist, but was promptly told that artists don’t make any money so I turned my attention elsewhere (no body mentioned art fairs, and Etsy wasn’t around at that time).

Marine Biologist was a long time dream of mine, but then I got squeamish so that killed that dream.

My love of photography made me want to turn that into a career and I even had an aptitude test tell me that that’s what I should be.  During my first real photography class in high school I kept getting B’s and C’s back on my pictures (mostly C’s) so once again, I was back to the drawing board (figuratively because that doesn’t make money).

Psychologist was my next career choice.  I’d even made it my major in college but it was so difficult for me.  I’d had such a hard time retaining the material that I switched my major to advertising.  I found that I was good at it and it came easy for me so I figured that’s what I should be doing.

But in the three years since I’ve graduated, I feel like I don’t want to do advertising anymore.  I just don’t feel right about trying to sell a product that I don’t believe in, but that’s the job right?  You have no choice on the companies that want you to make an advertising campaign for them.  But how can I put all my effort into selling something that I know is harmful to people or unhealthy, etc?  I can’t do it.

So now, with a degree in advertising, I’m working at a photography studio that specializes in senior and family portraits.  I absolutelyLOVEmy job.  It’s a mix of office work, retouching, and studio assisting.

I just thought this was so funny and had to be included!

What is the point of this post?

Well, I look back at the dreams that I’ve had of what I wanted to be and I realize that because of others, I’ve changed my mind over and over.  I’ve let others dictate what I should do in life.

Being told that artists don’t make any money emphasized how important money was to that person and therefore should be to me.

Getting B’s and C’s (mostly C’s) back on my photography assignments was my teacher’s way of saying that he didn’t think I had the talent for it.

However, what one person finds beautiful, someone else my not…go to any art/craft fair and tell me if you love every single thing you see there, not gonna happen which shows that art, and life, are subjective.

Whatever my future children want to be in life, I want to support.  I don’t want to squash their dreams like mine were (even though I didn’t realize they were being squashed at the time).  If they decide one day they want to be a famous guitar player, and the next day it’s something else, well at least they’ll have a hobby.

So instead of having to figure out a specific thing that I want to do with my life, my new goal is to be happy doing whatever it is that I’m doing. I want to love what I do, no matter what it is.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

