see the beauty

Favorite Photo

What is my favorite photo that I’ve taken?  I get that question a lot.  There’s only one problem…I can’t chose just one! (I know I know…)  Here are my favorites:

This one I called Unseen View.  It was taken in July of 2009 in Door County, Wisconsin at the Sister Bay Marina.  It’s not just the color of the sunset but the whispiness (don’t even know if that is a word!) of the clouds that I love too.

Angel Wings.  I took this in 2010 in Madison of a beautiful tulip.  This is the first time I took a photo of a flower from this type of angle.

Beauty From Beneath.  This was not only the first time I got a picture of a loon, but the first time that I had seen a loon in real life.  I have such a deep respect for these creatures.  They have an amazingly beautiful call and are such caring parents.  Taken in northern Wisconsin.

I Found My Bluebird.  Why that title?  It’s a long running joke between my husband and I that started when we were dating.  At the end of a Led Zeppelin song (I don’t remember which one), if you listen really carefully you can hear Robert Plant say “I can’t find my bluebird” as the song fades away.  Well, we found the bluebird while we were going on a walk in our neighborhood in southern Wisconsin.

Black Swallowtail.  Sometimes the titles are just of the subject themselves.  I have taken up ‘butterfly hunting’ in the summertime.  We have a lot of Eastern Tiger Swallowtails on the beach near our house but I’ve never seen a Black Swallowtail.  So I did a little research and found that they like open meadows more than the edges of forests like the Tiger Swallowtails.  We found a meadow down the street from us and sure enough, there it was!

Friends.  This was one of the most beautiful Eastern Tiger Swallotwails that I have seen and I am lucky that I had my camera with me.  I was on my way home and decided to stop at ‘our’ meadow and do a little bit of ‘butterfly hunting’.  I saw some Tigers and decided to head home.  As I was leaving the meadow, this Tiger was sitting so still…just waiting for me.  I’ve never seen this much blue on a Tiger Swallowtail before!

Two of a Kind.  This was one of the most amazing sights.  Apparently it’s very rare to see more than one Eastern Tiger Swallowtail together.  Usually it’s the males that hatch around the same time and find their way to a beach to absorb the minerals from the sand. However, this pairing was a male and female.  I can’t tell just by looking at them, but while watching them on the beach, they were trying to mate.  It was just so cool seeing them walk with each other and be in each other’s presence.

I hope that answers the “what’s your favorite” question! I’m sure that the more pictures that I take, the more that are going to be finding their way into my favorites section.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

