see the beauty

I’ve always loved to read.  Ever since I was little, I was able to immerse myself in a book.  I would get lost in this world; create pictures of it within my mind (that’s actually what I don’t like about movie versions of a book-the pictures look different than what I created).  I can loose all sense of time when I’m reading a book I really enjoy.

These are SO going to be my kids (at least I can only hope!)

There was actually one time in high school that I got into an argument with my English teacher over reading.   We were required to keep a reading log and write down the time that we started reading, the time we finished and how many pages (I guess to help prove that we actually read).  I really got into this one book (All Around the Town by Mary Higgins Clark) and I spent 6 hours one Sunday reading it.  When I got to class the next day and had my teacher check off on my reading log, he looked at me and said “Really?  I’m supposed to believe that you actually read for 6 hours?”  I was SO mad at him!  “Call my parents and ask them.  Do you really think that if I were trying to fake this that I’d write that down?!”  (Having helped many of my friends fake their reading logs I knew how to fake them without him knowing they were fake).  He begrudgingly signed off on it and never did call my parents but the point is, if I like a book, I’ll read it for as long as I can.  There are some days that I only stop reading because I’m starting to fall asleep and didn’t comprehend the last two pages!

My parents (especially my mom) always supported us reading and tried to get my brother and I to read as often as possible.  When we went shopping, my mom never had an issue spending money on books (as opposed to movies).  That is one thing that I obtained from my mom.  I never have issues buying books but always think longer about other purchases. Maybe one reason is that one of the biggest series of all time came out when I was 11 and continued to adulthood:

Harry Potter! My cousin and I actually had a competition on who could read this the fastest!

For some reason, things start to not be as cool during middle school/high school anymore.  Reading, unfortunately, becomes one of them.  It’s not cool to read books anymore; Cliff Notes are what we use for school and reading for fun is unheard of.  While the number of books I read on my own significantly dropped once I was in high school, I never stopped completely.  I was actually one of the best readers within my English classes, and had I not been so shy, I would have read out loud more.

I still think that reading is a very important thing and I feel it’s something that is lacking within my age group.  Video games have overtaken reading, and it’s sad to me.  I feel, video games close your mind, they don’t increase creativity or imagination.  They just have you search a different room and let you chose your weapon (will it be a machine gun or flame thrower?).

I can still sit for hours and read a book. In fact, it took me 4 days total to finish all 3 of the Hunger Games series (5 hours for Mockingjay).  The cool thing for me, too, is that if I really love a book, I will read it over and over again and still be just as enthralled in it as I was the first time.  That is another reason I tend to purchase my books.

Rarely do I ever get rid of a book, but that also means that I am very picky about the books that I do read.  If you’re having difficulty finding books that you want to read here are some of my favorites that I’ve read multiple times (by the way, these are just the ‘adult’ books. I LOVE kids books! Dr Seuss is still my favorite!):

One of my new favorites!

Love Harry Potter

The Time Travelers Wife By Audrey Niffenegger, The Horse Whisperer By Nicholas Evans, Girl With a Pearl Earring By Tracy Chevalier, A Dog’s Purpose By W. Bruce Cameron, The Other Boylen Girl By Phillipa Gregory

Another HUGE Favorite: Philip Pullman’s Dark Materials including: The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass.

Oh I also loved (and didn’t think I would) Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen (I’ve got an issue with the circus and I don’t like anything related to it but I was pleasantly surprised with this book).

There are books out there for everyone (have you been to a Barns and Noble recently?! They’re huge!) If you don’t like one, there’s not a rule that says that you have to finish it…move on to another.  All I can say is try it, you may be surprised at how much you like it!

And remember:

Comments on: "If You Think Reading is Boring, You’re Doing it Wrong" (4)

  1. Cinda Boshart said:

    Loved your thoughts on reading. I also love the poster (“If you think reading is boring…”) and wonder if you know where I can purchase one for my middle school library. Thanks!

    • Unfortunately I don’t know where one could be purchased…I just found this meme online but I’m sure you could try a Google search! That would be an awesome poster for a Middle School Library!!

  2. I wish I were more of a reader than I am now. I have a really hard time sitting still and focusing on a book. I have too much going on around me, but when I do find a book I like, I get SO into it. I couldn’t put The Hunger Games down!! However, I do hope my daughter takes pleasure in reading! I love it when I find her curled up with a book. She can’t even read yet.

  3. I love this! I’m a big fan of reading and hope to impart the same love of books on to my toddler. Like you though, I fell off the reading wagon around high school and college. Maybe I wasn’t encouraged to read for fun in addition to reading for school.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

